Published: Thu, July 19, 2018
Sports | By Angie Alvarado

Detroit misses out on hosting future Final Four

Detroit misses out on hosting future Final Four

The NCAA awarded the 2024 Final Four Monday and also granted Houston (2023), San Antonio (2025) and Indianapolis (2026) the right to host college basketball's largest championship event. The NCAA passed on Los Angeles, Dallas and Detroit in favor of the desert, a statement that emphasizes the community engagement and cooperation Arizona's cities have brought.

"This extremely competitive process mirrored the championship's selections meeting, with the committee having lengthy conversations about the pros and cons of seven attractive and qualified locations", said Dan Gavitt, the NCAA's senior vice president of basketball.

Houston was among several cities vying for a Final Four appearance between 2023 and 2026. Earlier this year, the San Antonio Local Organizing Committee, which includes UTSA, put in an incredible amount of hard work to host one of the best Final Fours ever held. Phoenix has hosted once (2017), San Antonio has hosted four times (1998, 2004, 2008, 2018) and Indianapolis has hosted seven times (1980, 1991, 1997, 2000, 2006, 2010, 2015).

The city wasn't selected as one of the four host cities for the 2023-26 Final Fours, unveiled by the NCAA on Monday afternoon.

Other stadiums in this bidding cycle included AT&T Stadium in Arlington and the under construction Los Angeles Stadium at Hollywood Park. It will seat 70,000 with expandable seating to 100,000 for mega events.

The concerns, however, are water under the bridge issues for Johnson, who knows that getting back into the rotation is a big step for future Final Fours.

Economic impact from the 2017 Final Four was an estimated $324.5 million, according to a student by ASU's W.P. Carey School of Business. "The sooner they could get back (the better), for how old the Alamodome is".

The 2019 Final Four will take place in Minneapolis, while Atlanta will host the 2020 event, Indianapolis will be the site for the 2021 Final Four and New Orleans will host in 2022. Dawn Rogers filled that role for the 2017 Final Four and now is Baylor deputy athletic director.

Like this: