Published: Mon, February 04, 2019
Industry | By Jeannie Evans

Shroud and Dr Disrespect rumored to have tested new Titanfall battle royale

Shroud and Dr Disrespect rumored to have tested new Titanfall battle royale

"Looks like everything is unlocked now? Fun".

You can see the reveal for yourself on the brand new Play Apex Twitch channel, which we've embedded below. Leaks have circulated throughout the weekend regarding a new game called Apex Legends; whatever it is, the developer will be sharing details during a stream at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM GMT.

"It's called Apex Legends and will be out on Monday for PC, Xbox, and PS4". Still a ways away apparently, but maybe there might be some other action on the way in the form of the industry's latest trend: The battle royale. Interestingly, it won't feature Titan mechs, but it'll feature an array of playable characters with unique abilities, ala Overwatch and Rainbow Six Siege. Aside from being a battle royale title, it will also support upto 60 players and uses Valve's Source Engine, much like past Respawn games like Titanfall and Titanfall 2.

According to the information handed to Breslau, EA and Respawn invited streamers and eSports pros out to the event to play Apex Legends.


"Perhaps the studio made a decision to switch engines for Titanfall 3, releasing Apex Legends (which is also reportedly on Source) as a stopgap as it pushed back the release of a proper third Titanfall game".

As far as Titanfall 3 is concerned, Schreier has revealed that he first heard about the game back in 2017, and was told that it was already in development.

While we'll have to wait until Monday (if the rumors are accurate) to discover if a Titanfall 3 is still in the works, it seems quite likely it is. But anyway, we'll have more to share later today when the stream goes live so stay tuned for more!

Like this: